Home » IPL 2018 » IPL 2018: Mid Season Captains Changing History

IPL 2018: Mid Season Captains Changing History

Mid Season Captains Changing History

Indian Premier League was started since 7th April and no it is at its peak time. Fans enjoy batting, bowling as well as fielding of their favorite star players. With all the excitement, there are some incidents that make the fans sad. One of them is the news of Gautam Gambhir’s step down as captain of Delhi Daredevils. It adds another one to the list of mid season captains changing history of IPL.

Read Batting Bowling Records of IPL 2018 till 20th T20.

Gambhir took a bold and courageous decision to step down as Delhi Daredevils captain in VIVO IPL 2018. He forced to do so as DD didn’t perform well and now occupy the last spot in points table. Gautam Gambhir is one of the most successful captains in IPL as he led Kolkata Knight Riders to the title two times. Coming to DD, it was expected as he would turn around things for them but that didn’t happen.

Gautam also failed in batting as he is not in a really good form to provide his team a good start. He managed only 85 runs in 1st 6 games with 55 runs from the first match of this edition. His form and bad results both forced him to quit the captain’s job mid-season. Don’t surprise or shocked as this is not the first incident of captain has been leaving or removed from this position. We offer IPL prediction 2018, today IPL match and IPL 2018 teams.

Check Indian Premier League Schedule 2018.

Get IPL today match prediction and IPL schedule. Below are some other incidents of mid season captains changing history:

 Adam Gilchrist took charge from VVS Laxman (2008)

Indian iconic test player picked by Deccan Chargers in the inaugural season of IPL. VVS Laxman also names as the captain of his team. He also left the captaincy after the poor start of his franchise. Adam Gilchrist replaced him as a captain but didn’t able to turn things around in that season. DC finished that season as the bottom team of the points table. But Gilchrist effect came in next year as he led his team to the title.

Check possible 5 players can win IPL 2018 Orange Cap.

Harbhajan Singh suspension makes way for Shaun Pollock (2008)

Due to the groin injury, Sachin Tendulkar had to sit out from the playing XI of Mumbai Indians. The absence of Tendulkar created an opportunity for Harbajhan Singh to lead MI. In his 3rd game as captain, he was suspended due to the slap-gate incident with KXIP’s Sreesanth. Mumbai’s management had to choose 3rd skipper of the season and they gave the responsibility to South African Shaun Pollock.

Read 5 Interesting Unfamiliar IPL Records.

Kevin Pietersen replaced by The Great Anil Kumble (2009)

Kevin Pietersen captained the RCB in the 2nd season of IPL. He left the IPL midseason due to his national duties to represent his country in International matches. After him, Anil Kumble was appointed as the captain of RCB. He led RCB to their 1st final against Deccan which they lost. Who will win today IPL match? Get access to IPL T20 predictions, today IPL match predictions and IPL 2018 time table.

Check IPL points table 2018.

Virat Kohli came in Captaincy region of IPL (2012)

In his IPL career, before starting as the regular captain Kohli was appointed as stand-in captain. He replaced Daniel Vettori due to his bad form. Sri Lankan great spinner Muttiah Muralitharan also took the responsibility of lead spinner for RCB. Kohli along with Murli changed the fortunes for RCB as they won six games out of last eight games. RCB narrowly missed playoffs due to bad run-rate in their 1st games. Here is IPL today prediction.

Read Impact Players of IPL 2018.

Sangakkara left the captaincy (2012)

In their last season, DC again found themselves in the slump like 2008. Due to bad results, once again a cricket legend Sangakkara like Lexman, left the captaincy for some rest. Australian batsman Cameron White was appointed the captain. He found some success but they ended the season in ninth place. Mid Season Captains Changing History is here. We provide you IPL win prediction and IPL 2018 predictions.

Read more Top 5 batsmen with maximum IPL sixes.

Ricky Ponting’s memorable masterstroke (2013)

Ricky Ponting’s decision to step down midway was a memorable one for Mumbai Indians. No one would think that a young captain like Rohit Sharma inspires a clinical turnaround to MI. After 6 loses, Rohit took over the captaincy and won 8 out of next 10 matches to qualify for playoffs. Mumbai lost to Chennai in Qualifier 1 but they beat them in the final to claim their 1st title. To go with it later, Mumbai won Champions League T20 title as well. Rohit led the Mumbai in two further IPL titles.

Check result of IPL 2017 Big Final.

Sammy took charge from Shikhar Dhawan (2014)

West Indian Captain of that time Darren Sammy took the charge of SRH from Shikhar Dhawan mid of the season. Dhawan only managed 215 runs in 10 innings and couldn’t deliver the results. Darren Sammy inspired the team and better performance came after that but SRH finished the season in sixth place. Today’s IPL match prediction, IPL 2018 CSK and today match prediction IPL is here.

Read more about Anushka Sharma, Sakshi Reactions during MS Dhoni’s Six hitting vs RCB.

Steven Smith replaced Shane Watson (2015)

One of the most silenced and surprising decision came from Rajasthan Royals about their captain on the toss of next match. Designated captain for the season was Watson but Steve Smith appeared on the toss and told that Watson quietly stepped down from captaincy. After him, I took over the charge. Rajasthan revived their campaign later but finished fifth due to the MI chase of 189 in 14.4 Overs.

Check result of Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Kings XI Punjab 25th T20 Today Match Prediction.

David Miller gave charge to Murli Vijay (2016)

Miller was retained by KXIP in 2016 auction. Later he was announced as the captain of KXIP despite the fact that he was inexperienced in captaincy. Miller left the captaincy after 6 games as KXIP lost 5 of them. He also lost his form. Murli Vijay replaced him as captain but he also could not turn things around. This is all from mid season captains changing history list.

See Delhi Daredevils vs Kolkata Knight Riders 26th T20 Today Match Prediction.

Check Also

Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Kings XI Punjab 48th T20 Today Tips Image IPL 2019

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) vs Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) T20 Tips

Article Contents Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Kings XI Punjab 48th T20 IPL 2019Who will win today …

Kolkata Knight Riders vs Mumbai Indians 47th T20 Win Tips Image IPL 2019

IPL Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) vs Mumbai Indians (MI) Tips

Article Contents Kolkata Knight Riders vs Mumbai Indians 47th T20 IPL 2019Who will win today …